Week 5 Thoughts, Observations

Hope all is well after a week off.  In this week, we took care of business in a fairly non-eventful win.  A 27-14 victory over UK, let’s analyze….

Offense

The one thing about this game that was a little disappointing was the lack of a dominant running game.  It was good enough but I guess UK wanted to take that away from us.  We more than made up for it in the passing game.  I thought Russell had a good game but there were some mistakes in both protection and decisions.  What continues to impress me is his accuracy on the deeper throws especially on the deep posts and in routes.  I think most were expecting a few more points but I think we could have gotten a few more had we not fumbled twice and had a little more urgency.  Another interesting thing on Saturday was we were essentially playing the whole day on the OL without a senior in the group.  That is encouraging.  I tell ya, it really didn’t seem like Bumphis had 9 catches but it just sort of fit in on this day, nice production.  Overall, a solid day.  Grade: C+

Defense

The defense basically controlled the game, except when we blew the coverage in the first half on the deep ball.  Once we got up 20 points, we had our normal letdown to some degree.  I thought we swarmed to the ball pretty well and made some good plays, although with no turnovers.  Josh Boyd had a good game and I know we got folks a ton of snaps and experience.  14 points was a few too many but we were never in doubt of losing.  Grade: B-

Special Teams

Devin Bell has gotten very solid, really like that leg.  We were pretty good in this arena except for the blown on sides kick.  I was sitting in Full Moon BBQ watching when Christian Holmes jacked up that kickoff returner and there were several “Oohs” in the joint, that was pretty darn solid!  Good day overall.  Grade: B-

Team

Bottom line, we took care of business on the road, granted against arguably the worst team in the league (or maybe we played them in Week 2?).  Anyway, we came off a bye week and got the win to go 5-0.  This week, a little better offense to contend with but I think we will be prepared and up to the challenge.  Grade: B+

Notes

Talk radio this week will be gold in my state:)  Wow…..How LSU can score 12 against AU and 6 against UF is stunning.  And USC may have the best D among the three…..Webs, just shake my head…..Can’t wait for this weekend in Vegas, hope to see everyone there!

Brian  (Follow me on Twitter @blfdawg)

Leave a comment